orderakp.blogg.se

How to convert a file to svg for cricut
How to convert a file to svg for cricut













I chose a “5×7” but other good sizes to choose are 8.5×11 and 12×12. You can always resize the cut file after you create it. It really doesn’t matter what size you make your file. Open up Illustrator and click “Create New”. This program can do some pretty cool stuff. And guess what… it’s not so scary and I learned that there is no reason to be intimidated. So, I took the plunge and bought Creative Cloud and started to teach myself Illustrator. But when I wanted to start to create my own cut files, I knew that Photoshop wasn’t going to be able to the job done because a cut file is a vector file and Photoshop produces raster files. I thought that it was too complicated to learn and I stayed away from it for a very long time. Up until recently, I was very intimidated about using Adobe Illustrator. You can access a free trial if you’d like to try it out. It is an investment but I highly recommend it if you are serious about creating cut files. You will need a monthly subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud in order to use it. For this tutorial, you will need Adobe Illustrator. There are several software options to create SVG files. WHAT SOFTWARE IS USED TO CREATE SVG FILES? Here is a post that gives you an overview of SVG files. Because it is vector, and SVG file will not lose quality when increased in size.

how to convert a file to svg for cricut

Cut files are also known as SVG files which stands for scalable vector graphic. But just in case you don’t, a cut file is a specific type of file that is used in personal cutting machines like Silhouette and Cricut.

how to convert a file to svg for cricut

If you’re reading this post, I assume you know what a cut file is. Now that I know how to create an SVG cut file, I want to share this knowledge with you so you can also create cut files using Illustrator. I relied on using other people’s cut files and soon got frustrated when I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted. But for the longest time, I didn’t know how to make them.

how to convert a file to svg for cricut

Learn how to make cut files using Illustrator for use with Silhouette or Cricut.Ĭut files (also known as SVG files) are one of my favorite crafty items to create.















How to convert a file to svg for cricut